Skip to main content

First Fruits/Kwanzaa schedule for Dec 2011-Jan 1, 2012


First Community Interfaith Institute Inc. invites the public to our 32 day First Fruits/Kwanzaa schedule of events. Events in bold are the major highlights of the 32 day season.

FIRST FRUITS (DECEMBER 1-DECEMBER 25)
Thursday, December 1: Kwanzaa Appreciation Program, 6 PM, 219 Hamilton Street
Friday, December 2 and Saturday, December 3: Kwanzaa prayer session and candle lighting, 6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Sunday, December 4: 4 pm, 219 Hamilton Street (Students Doology Hour, our weekly Sunday service)--also repeats on Dec. 11, 18, 25
Monday, December 5-Saturday, December 10: Kwanzaa prayer session and candle lighting, 6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Monday, December 12-Wednesday, December 14: Kwanzaa prayer session and candle lighting, 6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Thursday, December 15: African Mothers Day, 6 pm, School #33, 500 Webster Avenue (All females at the program receive a flower)
Friday, December 16-Saturday, December 17: Kwanzaa Prayer session and candle lighting, 6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Monday, December 19-Saturday, December 24: Kwanzaa prayer session and candle lighting, 6pm, 219 Hamilton Street
KWANZAA (DECEMBER 26-JANUARY 1)
Monday, December 26: Umoja, 6 PM, 219 Hamilton Street
Tuesday, December 27, Kujichagulia, 6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Wednesday, December 28, Ujima, 6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Thursday, December 29, Ujamaa, 6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Friday, December 30, Nia, 6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Saturday, December 31, Kuumba,  6 pm, 219 Hamilton Street
Sunday, January 1, 2012, Imani, 6 pm, St. John's Home, 150 Highland Av (KWANZAA FEAST--Bring dish to pass; also gifts are given, primarily educational, to the children)


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The 39th Annual FCII Festival is now the Minister Akilah Ife Evans Festival!

First Community Interfaith Institute of Ohio, located in Elyria, Ohio (23 miles southwest of Cleveland) is once again sponsoring the newly renamed Minister Akilah Ife Evans Festival.  The festival will take place July 12-15 at two venues: Kanisa House (the headquarters of FCII Ohio) and Lorain County Community College. This year's theme is "Differences Matter." For the complete schedule, email ddfcii@aol.com.


Minister Lawrance Lee Evans Sr. is now an ancestor!

The Rochester (NY) community and the Elyria (OH) community are saddened by the passing of a distinguished scholar, researcher, community organizer, teacher, case manager, and clergyman, the renowned Minister Lawrance Lee Evans Sr, who transitioned on Sunday, September 9. from a brief illness.

This morning (September 14, 2018) will be his homegoing service at Aenon Baptist Church, 175 Genesee Street, Rochester NY 14611.

Please keep the Minister's immediate and extended family, and the First Community Interfaith Institute of Rochester and Elyria in your prayers.

= If you are in the Rochester area please pick up a copy of the September 12 edition of the Challenger Community News. On page 2 is a beautiful article that summed up the legacy of this great man. I did not get the permission of the  Challenger Community News to reprint their article, thus, I cannot include it in the blog at this time.

Kwanzaa 2018 press release

FIRST COMMUNITY INTERFAITH INSTITUTE INC.219 Hamilton Street Rochester NY 14620-1112
PHONE: 585-461-0379 ** FAX: 1-585-495-2329** EMAIL: fciirochester@gmail.com ** WEB: https://www.facebook.com/fciirochesterFor more information, contact Sister Uwimana Oni at 585.461.0379 or uwimana@fciirochester.orgPRESS RELEASE12/17/18FIRST COMMUNITY INTERFAITH INSTITUTE INC.'s FINAL WEEK OF KWANZAA
First Fruits at First Community Interfaith Institute Inc will end with the beginning of Kwanzaa according to Dr. Maulana Karenga. Starting on Wednesday, December 26, 2018  until December 31 at 6 PM, the Institute's students, members and supporters will reflect on the first six principles of the Nguzo Saba  (unity, self-determination, collective work and responsibility, cooperative economics, purpose and creativity).